A very rare and exciting opportunity to be the custodian of a wonderful piece of South Australian history and to enjoy living in a 14 room grand residence built of sandstone in a 4.4 acre wonderland of ancient native & European trees & shrubs.
Gaze in awe of the 100 year old plus palm tree with a Moreton Bay tree growing from its side near the top. How did that get there you ask? Well keep exploring because the journey has only just begun!
Bungala House was built in 1856 for Eli Butterworth and his family and then extended by Frederick Graham, son of John Graham a shareholder and original Director of the Burra Copper Mines in 1888 adding two wings and adjoining verandah, creating a grand home of 14 rooms. The verandah sweeps around the home offering cool shade and protection with doors at intervals to access the home.
When the current owners, Mark and Jill Pearse purchased the home in 1979 they found it in need of repair and they set about restoring it to its former glory. None of the original charm has been lost and much of it is original. Solar panels have been installed returning power to the grid and separate panels heat the hot water service.
Entering through the massive reception hallway with its elegant archways and beautiful leadlight and unique timber floors one stands in awe of the early architecture and imagination of design at such an early stage of South Australia’s history. The rooms are massive and with 16’ ceilings in the older section it is very impressive with a ballroom, formal lounge room, formal dining room, two studies, a flag room with internal ladder and a billiard room with a skylight and red gum stumps under the table legs shaved level with the timber floor to support the weight. There are two bathrooms, four or five bedrooms depending on the configuration required including the current main bedroom with a fireplace, which was formerly the grand ballroom with adjoining sitting room and ensuite. The kitchen also has a skylight, a large pantry and adjoining meals room which opens to an enclosed courtyard.
The current owners are well known artists who produce fantastic pottery, woodcarvings & art which is on display throughout the home and 4.4 acre grounds. The works of art are produced from various workshops including a separate domed roof three story stone building which could be used for a myriad of purposes. The original servants dwelling is now used as a pottery studio and the shedding is extensive and would provide the pursuit of hobbies, craft, vehicle restoration and any variety of purposes.
A restored tennis house, a long wisteria walk, ponds, carport, fully enclosed orchard and chook yard can be found around the property. It would be impossible to grow tired of "Bungala" with its picturesque grounds, interesting walks along Bungala Creek, which meanders by at the back of the property and exploring the delights of Yankalilla and neighbouring Normanville by the sea.
Provisional approval has been given for a sub-division for 6 courtyard homes on the property's northern bounday.
"Bungala" truly is a magnificent property and deserves to be enjoyed and loved by the new owners ensuring that it is preserved as the treasure that it is.
Year Built: 1856
Land Area: 17,806 sqm
Parking: 4 cars